What to Post??

I’m not a very good writer, but I’m an excellent rewriter. – James Michener

This is a quote I took from Kathy Perret’s slice. She encouraged us to pick one of the writing quotes and tell why it resonates with us. I decided to use this as my post for today (mainly because I didn’t have anything else in mind for a post).
I would need to modify James Michener’s quote slightly to fit me.
I’m not a very good writer, but I’m a pretty good editor.

I have trouble deciding what my post for each day will be. It sometimes ends up with me agonizing over what to write…what to write! I’ve read so many wonderful posts and I have to say I feel a little unworthy to stick in my two cents. I’m much better at taking someone else’s words and giving suggestions on how to make them better than writing my own words.
I’m hoping that by participating in this challenge and forcing myself to share my words, I will gain more confidence in my own writing abilities. My students are participating in the classroom challenge and I can see that they are growing more confident in their postings. Maybe there’s hope for me!

3 thoughts on “What to Post??

  1. There is definitely hope for you! I think it has been harder as we approach mid month, to decide what to write about. I am confident that the rest of the month will bring great things from us all. Reading each day and taking a look at different techniques has my mind reeling. This week has been crazy though and I hope for more time over the weekend to create.

  2. You are doing fine! The important thing, I think, is just putting it out there every day. Some days my writing is good and some days it’s just junk, but the daily discipline of putting it out there is what matters. Keep writing 🙂

Leave a comment